ON AGING AND LIFESTYLE

From the moment of birth we begin to experience aging.  However in our 40s this process speeds up. The first white hairs appear, eyesight declines and our metabolism slows down. We become more aware that time flies and that aging happens. Perhaps this is the first time we look at our lifestyle and are prepared to make some changes. We all want to be healthy and feel vibrant and young, regardless of our  age. This is where Yoga has a lot to offer. The ancient teachings of Yoga have been practised since time immemorial and their benefits are well known but it’s only recently that scientists have found proof that a yogic lifestyle based on a healthy diet, moderate exercise, group support and stress relieving techniques such as yoga and meditation  can not only delay the aging process but actually reverse it.

Dr. Elizabeth Blackburn and her team of researchers at UCSF won the 2009 Nobel Prize of medicine  for the discovery of the telomere function in aging at a cellular level. Telomeres are the caps at the end of the chromosomes that protect them from deterioration. During 5 years they measured the length of the telomeres in the white cells of 2 groups of men with a low risk of prostate cancer. The group that followed a healthy stress-free lifestyle showed a 10% increase in the telomeres length while the control group showed a shortening of 3%.

In my coming workshop  HOW TO AGE BEAUTIFULLY offered at the Sivananda Yoga Retreat in the Bahamas I will be sharing with you how my Yoga practice, at a physical, mental and spiritual level, helps me embrace my age with gratitude and joy.

Dates: January 23-25 and March 1-3

For more workshops and courses please check http://www.sivananda.org/program

 

 

About suryasanmiguel

I'm a Yoga teacher and educator. I was born in Madrid, Spain and came to Canada in the 70's to study but remained here. I received a degree in Education from McGill University. In my student's years I had the good fortune of meeting my Zen teacher, Roshi Phillip Kapleau and I studied with him for 15 years attending numerous retreats. In 1988 I was also very fortunate to meet Swami Vishnudevananda at the Sivananda Yoga Camp in Quebec where I became a certified Yoga teacher My interest in Budhism and Hinduism also led me to meet several Tibetan Lamas and study their teachings and traditions. I live presently in Montreal, Canada but travel frequently teaching Yoga and giving workshops and lectures on spiritual related topics.
This entry was posted in Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

