NEW YEAR RESOLUTIONS

Have you ever made a New Year resolution that you we able to keep all year round? I haven’t and so as the years go by I tend, as a defeatist, not to bother with this custom.  However, this morning while I took an early walk on the beach I had what could be called a spontaneous resolution experience.  Of course the timing was perfect. It was my first day at the Sivananda Yoga Retreat in the Bahamas, the cold Montreal Winter was already a forgotten memory and it was the New Year. As I walked on the wet sand, one step at the time, surrounded by the beauty of the ocean and the blue sky, the resolution came naturally. “I resolve I will always feel as alive as I am in this moment and I resolve I will always feel immense gratitude for it.”

I must admit that it took a very auspicious set of circumstances for this experience to happen because not every day we wake up in beautiful Paradise Island.  Let’s say that my inner and outer elements conspired to arouse in me the love for life and the energy to commit to such a high resolve.

The question now is how to keep these resolutions alive all year long.  How to make every moment fresh, how to remain always in awe, how to be overwhelmed by emotion by the most common sights and gestures.  There is a way, Thich Nhat Hanh says: “Breathe in… Breathe out…” One step, another step…  As simple and difficult as that. Nothing to accept, reject, discuss or debate.  Just something to do and not only on the New Year but every day and every moment.  So if I want my resolutions to work all year round I must apply myself  all the time to feeling alive and present even in the absence of palm trees and turquoise waters and to have immense gratitude in all scenarios including Montreal below-zero temperatures.

Have a wonderful New Year with or without resolutions!

 

 

 

About suryasanmiguel

I'm a Yoga teacher and educator. I was born in Madrid, Spain and came to Canada in the 70's to study but remained here. I received a degree in Education from McGill University. In my student's years I had the good fortune of meeting my Zen teacher, Roshi Phillip Kapleau and I studied with him for 15 years attending numerous retreats. In 1988 I was also very fortunate to meet Swami Vishnudevananda at the Sivananda Yoga Camp in Quebec where I became a certified Yoga teacher My interest in Budhism and Hinduism also led me to meet several Tibetan Lamas and study their teachings and traditions. I live presently in Montreal, Canada but travel frequently teaching Yoga and giving workshops and lectures on spiritual related topics.
This entry was posted in Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NEW YEAR RESOLUTIONS

  1. michele Lalande says:

    Bonjour Surya, merci pour ton partage ! c’est une belle prise de conscience que tu as eu sur la plage. Moi, mon expérience fut d’une autre nature ! Après avoir affronté le verglas et les trottoirs glacés qui sont présents dans nos rues de Montréal , je suis rentrée à la maison et j’ai eu ce sentiment de gratitude car j’étais encore en vie !!!!
    Bonne Année à toi, ta famille et tout ceux qui t’entourent !
    Michèle Lalande

  2. Lewis C. says:

    Oui j’ai un souhait, et je compte bien m’y tenir jusqu’à ce qu’il se réalise…qu’on se voit au moins une fois en 2015 :-))Amistad et todo lo que deseasXOXOCarole De : suryasanmiguel À : lewisc13@yahoo.com Envoyé le : Dimanche 4 janvier 2015 16h22 Objet : [New post] NEW YEAR RESOLUTIONS #yiv4303514064 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv4303514064 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv4303514064 a.yiv4303514064primaryactionlink:link, #yiv4303514064 a.yiv4303514064primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv4303514064 a.yiv4303514064primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv4303514064 a.yiv4303514064primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv4303514064 WordPress.com | suryasanmiguel posted: “Have you ever made a New Year resolution that you we able to keep all year round? I haven’t and so as the years go by I tend, as a defeatist, not to bother with this custom.  However, this morning while I took an early walk on the beach I had what could b” | |

  3. irene-jagadamba says:

    oooooooom!!!!

    que así sea, en cada una de nuestras inhalaciones y exhalaciones.

    om y prem y abrazos enormes desde la mediterránea barcelona

Leave a Reply

