MY INNER TEACHER

My inner teacher always knows best although I do not listen to her all the time. When I try to change a habit that does not serve me well my little mind insists on its old ways as a stubborn child. Patience, born of compassion, is one of my teacher’s  many qualities and with time in her hands she waits eternally until my doubts, fears and hesitations disappear. She supports me unconditionally and remains equally poised before my clarity and confusion. She is always here watching and when I walk again into a dead-end, she patiently sees me fall, cry, laugh and stand up again.

Her pervasive presence is like that of a mother, always attentive. She sees and knows all and subtly points at ways that I do not understand all the time but that I foolishly question. When I doubt my inherent wisdom she always reminds me that I am her child, the heiress of her knowledge. She is luminous, the generator of countless stars, the fuel that keeps my fire going.  Her spacious body is vast like the sky and she invites me generously to rest on her bosom until old stories dissolve like clouds.

My inner teacher is my constant companion, my best friend, who joins me faithfully in countless adventures. She always lets me take the lead but follows me without hesitation.  When I leave her behind she becomes distant and aloof but then I turn my head to look at her and she comes to me.  In silence I listen to what she has to say and that’s when we  meet again like old lovers coming together. Our timeless relationship is an old story of parting and reuniting, of amor and desamor, but in her unmovable compassion she always sustains me in my comings and goings like the ocean sustains the ebb and flow of the tide.  She is my beloved who hears my call for love and although she is sometimes slow to respond I know I can always find her at home, within my foolish heart.   Jai Ma!

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About suryasanmiguel

I'm a Yoga teacher and educator. I was born in Madrid, Spain and came to Canada in the 70's to study but remained here. I received a degree in Education from McGill University. In my student's years I had the good fortune of meeting my Zen teacher, Roshi Phillip Kapleau and I studied with him for 15 years attending numerous retreats. In 1988 I was also very fortunate to meet Swami Vishnudevananda at the Sivananda Yoga Camp in Quebec where I became a certified Yoga teacher My interest in Budhism and Hinduism also led me to meet several Tibetan Lamas and study their teachings and traditions. I live presently in Montreal, Canada but travel frequently teaching Yoga and giving workshops and lectures on spiritual related topics.
This entry was posted in Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to MY INNER TEACHER

  1. Narayani says:

    sooo beautiful!

    Om Shanti Narayani

  2. Camille Bernard says:

    My inner teacher or what my spiritual call my higher self….I wish every human being can have access to that precious part of themselves. Merci Surya encore pour ce texte remarquable…

  3. Eve Roblin says:

    Dear Surya, Your description of your inner teacher brought tears to my eyes. So exquisitely beautiful and true. Thank you for your pure heart and courage. Your friend, Eve

  4. So good that we resonate together. Big hugs.

  5. Leyvis Concepcion says:

    Aww, touching description of your higher self. While reading I felt identify and sensed a warm feeling in my chest. It made me have a vision and analysis of my own human patterns of behavior and process of changes that I’m engage in my daily life to change habits that does not serve me. Thank you for sharing such an insightful message that provide me guidance to continue grow spiritually.

Leave a Reply

