DROP IT!

There is a story of a young man who left his family’s village in search of fortune.  He travelled to distant lands but fortune eluded him.  After many years he returned home and there he found a treasure buried under his hut.

For a long time I have also been searching for a treasure here and there.  I have been running on a program where this body, this  mind, this personality is the only reality.  I have looked inside the body and mind trying to find the spirit, the true nature, the God that Masters talk about but because it is so intangible, so difficult to locate, I have assumed that the key to its discovery was outside.

If you find yourself in this same predicament may I suggest something that may sound quite radical. How about changing the program? The old one that sees spirit hidden within the body is difficult to grasp, so let’s try a program that sees spirit as the only reality, spirit that happens to have taken at this moment this specific body and that thinks at this moment these specific thoughts. I would like to propose to you to put this new program to the test.

I am going to ask you to drop everything for a few seconds: your identity as a man or a woman, your age, conditions and circumstances, the notion that you are a spiritual seeker, that you are happy or unhappy.  Drop everything you are doing, what you are thinking, even stop reading this. Just for a few seconds.  And if you are concerned about loosing your identity, don’t worry because the old program is so deep that as soon as this exercise ends the familiar sense of self will come back with force.

Are you ready? Please, close your eyes, forget about your doubts, your certainties, forget about who you think you are, forget following your breath, forget even about your Ishta Devata, your protective angel, your Guru. Just rest in an empty space now.

_____ 0 _____

When you open your eyes, do not analyze anything.  There is no good or bad way. There is just getting accustomed to that space, with nothing to hold on to.  Just BEING, not doing, not thinking.  Becoming acquainted with that space and dwelling in it, being it, longer and longer, until the sense of solidity of who you think you are dissolves as clouds in an empty and luminous sky.

May we all find the treasure buried beneath our ground. Om Shanti!

 

About suryasanmiguel

I'm a Yoga teacher and educator. I was born in Madrid, Spain and came to Canada in the 70's to study but remained here. I received a degree in Education from McGill University. In my student's years I had the good fortune of meeting my Zen teacher, Roshi Phillip Kapleau and I studied with him for 15 years attending numerous retreats. In 1988 I was also very fortunate to meet Swami Vishnudevananda at the Sivananda Yoga Camp in Quebec where I became a certified Yoga teacher My interest in Budhism and Hinduism also led me to meet several Tibetan Lamas and study their teachings and traditions. I live presently in Montreal, Canada but travel frequently teaching Yoga and giving workshops and lectures on spiritual related topics.
This entry was posted in Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to DROP IT!

  1. pamela4588 says:

    Very nice. From Pam Maxey.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Sarah Barnard says:

    So beautiful Sylvia. I spend hours like this suspended in nature and especially in birdsong. Actually our human forms are imperfect and insignificant next to the beauty, rhythm and perfection of nature. You have described perfectly where we should spend more time just hanging out.

  3. Cindy Drummer says:

    I love reading your posts! Thank you and big hug! With gratitude, Cindy Drummer Former TTC who you encouraged as only you can! Blessings!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  4. Donna nebenzahl says:

    Thank you, Surya. Lovely to read in the midst if my hectic urban life.
    Donna (from Montreal)

  5. Veena says:

    Thank you dear Surya for your inspiring and helpful blogs.

  6. Thank you Veena, hope to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

