THE DIVINE MISTRESS

dakini

There is a story told in the Tri-Pura-Rahasya* in which Hemalekha saw that her beloved  while in deep meditation had attained the desired supreme State.  Not wanting to disturb him she awaited till he opened his eyes.  But as he saw her and the surroundings he desired to rest in that Condition once more and closed his eyes again.

Quickly grasping his hands she sweetly asked, “Tell me, what have you found to be the benefit by closing your eyes or the loss by keeping them open? Tell me, my dearest, what happens when they are closed? What happens when they are left open?”

Reluctantly, as if he were drunk on wine he said, “My dear, I have at last found complete repose. I find no rest in external things, which are filled with suffering. He who lies outside himself does not know true joy within. Just as someone goes begging for food ignorant of the ocean of joy within himself, again and again I go after pleasures obtained from transient things.  Enough of such efforts which merely increase the experience of suffering! My dear, I beg of you, let me find repose in my Self’s innate joy again.  Oh! you are unfortunate because you abandon that repose and instead engage in useless activity leading to suffering.”

Hemalekha smiled and said, “It is you who does not know the supreme holy State.  That State is far removed from you. You know next to nothing. Realizing that State does not depend on closing or opening one’s eyes! Nor is it even attained by doing or not doing something. Nor is that State realized by any coming or going.”

“How can the Whole possibly be attained by doing anything, going anywhere or closing one’s eyes? If it were located inside oneself, then how could that State be the Whole? Myriads upon myriads of universes exist in one corner alone. How can there be made to disappear by the mere opening or closing of an eyelid? Oh, what can I say about the amazing magnitude of your delusion?”

“Listen, my Prince! I will tell you what is the essential truth. So long as the knots of ignorance are not cut, true joy will escape you.  Uproot the very tight knot of ‘I am not this, I am not that’ and everywhere behold the undivided, blissful, expansive Self.  Behold the whole world in the Self, as if it were reflected in a mirror. Do not think that there is more than the Self that is everywhere and everything.  Entering everything, abide as that which is also within.”

Thus listening, Hemalekha’s beloved was rid of his misconception and understood that the Self is the Whole, which is everywhere.  Gradually he stably realized this by becoming absorbed into the Whole itself and lived happily ever after with Hemalekha and a host of other dakinis.

 

*The Tri-Pura-Rahasya is a scripture of the Shri-Vidya tradition of Southern India  (Quoted from Georg Feuerstein’s TANTRA, the Path of Ecstasy)

 

 

About suryasanmiguel

I'm a Yoga teacher and educator. I was born in Madrid, Spain and came to Canada in the 70's to study but remained here. I received a degree in Education from McGill University. In my student's years I had the good fortune of meeting my Zen teacher, Roshi Phillip Kapleau and I studied with him for 15 years attending numerous retreats. In 1988 I was also very fortunate to meet Swami Vishnudevananda at the Sivananda Yoga Camp in Quebec where I became a certified Yoga teacher My interest in Budhism and Hinduism also led me to meet several Tibetan Lamas and study their teachings and traditions. I live presently in Montreal, Canada but travel frequently teaching Yoga and giving workshops and lectures on spiritual related topics.
This entry was posted in Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

